As you know, I’ll be participating in #TheReadingQuest read-a-thon from August 13th to September 10th.

Here is my Reading Quest ID card:

the-reading-quest-character-card-creator-blank

I’ll be posting my Reading Quest updates here on my blog and over on my twitter (@amykatecoles).

Since I’m a Bard, I’ll be taking the path on the far right column of the Quest Board:

0139bee23b496793b1bde754b124c43e1049a080a7

TBR

#1. A book that has a TV/movie adaptationย 

Title: Emma

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Author: Jane Austen

Pages: 381 + 29 page introduction = 410

There are a couple film adaptations of this classic book including a rom-com with the same name from 1996 starring Gwyneth Paltrow. I also believe the movie Clueless is based off of Emma (correct me if I’m wrong, I haven’t seen the movie)! I also have to read this book for a class in my next semester of uni, so I figure I’d better get a head start!

#2. A fairy tale retelling

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses01d3df292fcf14be55bbc8f92cf5f1a3923bbe2652.jpg

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Pages: 416

This is a popular retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I tried to pick it up a few months ago and just wasn’t in the mood so I put it down after about 60 pages…. wish me luck with round two!

#3 A book cover with striking typography

Title: The Shadow of the WindProcessed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Author: Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Pages: 486

I really don’t have many books with amazing typography on my shelf, and since I’m on a book buying ban I’m sort of limited. Luckily my boss at work brought in a box of books she didn’t want anymore and this beauty was among them (book buying ban loopholesย ๐Ÿ˜). The angled text on the book looks pretty awesome!

I’m aware that I could have used this book as to check off the translated book challenge but I have something else in mind for that one…

#4 A book translated from another language

Title: Anderson’s Fairy Tales01839b661b27881ea1767ba6e06fd8ecea053fd764.jpg

Author: Hans Christian Anderson

Translator: Mrs. E. V. Lucas and Mrs. H. B. Paull

Pages: 327

This is a collection of 29 of Hans Christian Anderson’s classic fairy tales. Unfortunately the entire collection isn’t here – no The Little Mermaid – but there are The Snow Queen and The Emperor’s New Clothes among others. This was originally written in Danish and was obviously translated into English for these purposes.

#5 A banned book

Title: Death Note Volume 6Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Author: Tsugumi Ohba

Pages: 215

Andddd here I have a manga – which should be a nice break from all the novel’s I’ll be devouring. According to my research, Death Note has been banned from several Chinese cities partially because of an increase in hate crimes involving students making “death notes” and writing their enemies’ and teachers’ names in them – which is kinda creepy, yet I can see how it could be therapeuticย ๐Ÿ˜œ.

 

๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น

Total Pages To Read: 1854

๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น

That’s all that I’m for sure going to put on my TBR. I’m a big mood-reader so I’ll just see what I feel like picking up when it comes to the side quests.

Let me know what you think of my picks!

#TheReadingQuest

๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น๐Ÿ”น

Shout out to Aentee at Read at Midnight – the host of this read-a-thon and CW from Read, Think, Ponder – the artist behind the board and characters!

 

If you’d like to officially join #TheReadingQuest, be sure to follow the instructions here to sign up!

๐Ÿ˜ŠโœŒ๐Ÿผ

