Synopsis

Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

Once again told through a compelling dossier of emails, IMs, classified files, transcripts, and schematics, Gemina raises the stakes of the Illuminae Files, hurling readers into an enthralling new story that will leave them breathless.

Review

It’s been so long since I’ve read a book that I’ve loved this much – I forgot that I could love a book this much!

If you loved Illuminae then you will absolutely love this book too. I was a little worried going into the story because this book mainly takes place on board the Heimdall rather than the Hypatia, meaning we mostly follows Hanna and Nik rather than Kady and Ezra…but it worked so well! This story started off seeming completely different but as it progressed it tied back together with Kady and Ezra’s story perfectly – with them coming into the story towards the end.

Characters:

I loved Hanna. Kady was a tough female character to top with this book, but Hanna is just as (maybe more) badass and lovable as a character. Her capabilities in extreme conditions and her skill set turned her into a really badass character, while her down-to-earth personality made her feel so REAL! The combination of her capabilities with her emotional state was executed perfectly to make her relatable and badass at the same time – and c’mon, you’d think a rich, space commander’s daughter could never be relatable!

On the other hand, Nik is just someone you can’t hate. Though technically a criminal, he is not plagued with any tacky “tough guy act” or anything like that. He is inappropriately funny, sarcastic, and tends to swear a lot which is much more believable than any tough-guy-act could ever be. We also get to see his sensitive side more and more as the story progresses and more and more is at stake. His humour combined with his sensitive/protective side makes him a really lovable character and also makes him relatable, removing him from his past of crime.

Story:

Remember in Illuminae when it was non-stop action and crazy twist after crazy twist? Well that’s the case here too, except the crazy twists are even more epic and large-scale. I can’t say too much without giving it away, but there was so much action throughout the story that I couldn’t put the book down. I loved it. None of that action was pointless or a waste of paper, it was all perfect. I would actually have to close my eyes and sigh relief at some parts, and at others I would grab the book hard and yell “WHAT?!” (My bf had to ask if I was ok). This book made me physically react – which is only proof of how immersed into the story I was.
Whereas Illuminae took about 50 pages for me to get into, this one gets you right away. I think I like it more than Illuminae for that reason: it’s non-stop perfection from start to finish.

barney-mind-blown

Though, if you absolutely despised the multimedia formatting of Illuminae, I suppose you won’t like this either even though it is executed a little better. Overall LOVE LOVE LOVE! I need the last book now!!!

Rating: 5/5 Stars

🌕🌕🌕🌕🌕

Let me know if y’all want to talk spoilers 😉

