Synopsis

All the creatures of the night gather in “the Hollows” of Cincinnati, to hide, to prowl, to party… and to feed.

Vampires rule the darkness in a predator-eat-predator world rife with dangers beyond imagining – and it’s Rachel Morgan’s job to keep that world civilized.

A bounty hunter and witch with serious sex appeal and an attitude, she’ll bring ’em back alive, dead… or undead.

Review

Though is novel has pretty good balance of relatable humanity and supernatural elements, I didn’t feel like I connected very much with the characters or story. I know there’s a pretty big fandom surrounding this series, but I just didn’t get into it. The overused elements of sexuality seemed unnecessary in light of Rachael being hunted by virtually everyone, and I felt that the characters needed to be further developed – which I suppose they may be in later books…but I won’t be reading on. Insignificant scenes seemed to last forever, and it took a while for the plot to become exciting. Overall it was alright, I ended up feeling ok with it. Not upset that I read it, but also not blown away by it. just Meh! (note the exclamation point still). I’m not going to continue on with this series though – there are too many other books out there that I’m dying to read instead!

Rating: 3/5 Stars

